ASUMH Outstanding Faculty, Staff, Student and Alumni Honored by ACC

At a recent meeting of Arkansas Community Colleges (ACC), Arkansas State University-Mountain Home's (ASUMH) 2019  outstanding faculty member, staff member, Academic All-Star student, and alumni were honored alongside representatives of the other 21 community colleges in Arkansas. The awards were given during the annual meeting of ACC by Dr. Sandra Massey, member of the ACC Board of Directors, and ACC's Executive Director Andrea Henderson

ACC is a non-profit association representing all twenty-two (22) public community colleges in Arkansas. ACC has a long and successful history of collaborating with government agencies, educational institutions, private foundations, and others on projects that improve the ability of member colleges to meet the needs of their students, as well as the needs of their local business and industry leaders.

The following were recognized with awards:  

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home 2019 Outstanding Alumnus

Sarah Shedenhelm

Owner, Veterinarian

Baxter County Animal Clinic

Dr. Sarah Shedenhelm is a Baxter County native who attended Cotter Schools from kindergarten through graduation. She then attended both ASU Mountain Home, where she received an Associate of Arts degree, and ASU Jonesboro as an animal science major. After receiving her Doctorate in Veterinary Medicine from Louisiana State University, she and her husband, Brian moved back to Mountain Home to plant their roots. With her husband, Sarah owns Baxter County Animal Clinic. When not at the office, Sarah and Brian enjoy playing with their three little girls and appreciating country life.

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home 2019 Academic All-Star

Lauren Malte

Lauren is earning an Associate of Arts degree, and she plans to transfer to the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville to complete a four-year degree. Her ultimate goal is medical school. She is interested in the field of public health and infectious disease. At ASUMH, Lauren is part of the journalism club, Phi Theta Kappa, and the Fran Coulter Honors Program. She also works as a nursing assistant at Baxter Regional Medical Center and has volunteered for the Schliemann Center for Women’s Health Education.

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home 2019 Outstanding Faculty Member

David Bendler

Math Instructor

1992 to Present

Known as one of ASU-Mountain Home's favorite instructors, David Bendler teaches all

forms of math from algebra to trigonometry to calculus. A native of Illinois, David served as a

high school math instructor for more than 20 years before joining the newly-established campus

faculty of ASUMH in 1992. He has been involved in numerous committees at ASUMH through

the years including chairing the college's twenty-fifth anniversary celebration committee with

two other original TrailBlazers this year. This is David's second time to be honored as Faculty of

the Year at ASUMH.

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home 2019 Outstanding Staff Member

Matt Garcia

Police Officer

2013 to Present

Matt Garcia is a shining star on the Arkansas State University-Mountain Home campus. His

sincere desire to make ASUMH the safest place for our students, faculty, and staff is his number

one priority. Matt has been with ASUMH for more than five years. Before that, he served at the

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission for three years and boasts more than 18 years in law

enforcement altogether. He is a single dad raising two precious girls, ages 16 and 10, so his

hands are full both on campus and off.

# # # 

Pictured:  ASU-Newport Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey (Board member of ACC) and Sarah Shedenhelm; ASU-Newport Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey and Lauren Malte; ACC Executive Director Andrea Henderson and Matt Garcia; ACC Executive Director Andrea Henderson and David Bendler

Image titleImage titleImage titleImage title



Site alert goes here.

John Doe
Sign Up For Our Email List

Need Help Finding Anything?

Need Help Finding Anything?

New site alert goes here.

Go To Top